23 €

Avishai Cohen, Yonathan Avishai, "Playing The Room" - skaņuplate, 33.3 RPM, ECM Records.


Playing The Room bears testimony to the long musical friendship of Avishai Cohen and Yonathan Avishai. They began to explore jazz as teenagers in Tel Aviv, and have continued to play together over many years, with Yonathan making important contributions to Avishai’s group albums Into The Silence and Cross My Palm With Silver on ECM.

Their first duo album begins with music composed by the trumpeter and by the pianist and concludes with a touching interpretation of Israeli composer Alexander Argov’s cradle song “Shir Eres”. Along the way, Avishai and Yonathan improvise – freely, playfully, soulfully – on themes from jazz tradition. And, as the album titles implies, they also invite the recording space, the Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI in Lugano, to be part of the sound, making full use of its resonant acoustic properties in a performance with the intimacy and focus of chamber music.


Recorded in September 2018, and produced by Manfred Eicher, Playing The Room is available as both audiophile vinyl album and compact disc.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • A1 The Opening, Composed By – Avishai Cohen* - 4:32
  • A2 Two Lines, Composed By – Yonathan Avishai - 6:25
  • A3 Crescent, Composed By – John Coltrane - 8:28
  • A4 Azalea, Composed By – Duke Ellington - 3:41
  • B1 Kofifi Blue, Composed By – Abdullah Ibrahim - 6:29
  • B2 Dee Dee, Composed By – Ornette Coleman - 3:28
  • B3 Ralph's New Blues, Composed By – Milt Jackson - 4:33
  • B4 Sir Duke, Composed By – Stevie Wonder - 3:41
  • B5 Shir Eres (Lullaby), Composed By – Nathan Alterman*, Sasha Argov - 4:35


  • Avishai Cohen - Trumpet
  • Yonathan Avishai - Piano


Recorded: Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI, Lugano - September, 2018.

Released: 06.09.2019.



Catalogue No: ECM 2641

Barcode: 602577857256