Danish String Quartet, "Last Leaf" - skaņuplate, 33.3 RPM, ECM Records.

Šis albums pieejams arī CD formātā.


They are widely recognised as the most exciting young string quartet of the present moment, bringing new insights to contemporary composition and core classical repertoire. In parallel, they have also made surprising and impressive forays into the world of Nordic folk music. Their 2014 album Wood Works (Dacapo Records) was a left-field hit, and audiences around the world have been delighted by concert performances of the music. Now the Danish String Quartet bring their folk project to ECM with a stirring new recording.

Last Leaf took its initial inspiration from an unusual Christmas hymn, “Now found is the fairest of roses”, published in 1732 by Danish theologian and poet H.A. Brorson. The hymn is set to a mysterious, dark melody: Brorson had chosen an old Lutheran funeral choral to accompany his Christmas hymn, elegantly showing how life and death are always connected. “From here we embark on a travel through the rich fauna of Nordic folk melodies until returning to Brorson in the end,” say the DSQ. “It is a journey that could have been made in many different ways, but we believe that we returned with some nice souvenirs. In these old melodies, we find immense beauty and depth, and we can't help but sing them through the medium of our string quartet. Brorson found the fairest of roses, we found a bunch of amazing tunes – and we hope you will enjoy what we did to them.”


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • A1 Despair Not, O Heart, Music By – Traditional - 1:21
  • A2 Shore, Music By – Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin* - 2:50
  • A3 Polska From Dorotea, Music By – Swedish Traditional* - 3:03
  • A4 Tjønneblomen, Music By – Gjermund Haugen - 3:51
  • A5 Minuet No. 60, Music By – Danish Traditional* - 2:39
  • A6 Æ Rømeser, Music By – Danish Traditional* - 4:02
  • A7 Intermezzo, Music By – Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin* - 1:23
  • A8 Shine You No More, Music By – Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen - 3:38


  • B1 Drømte Mig En Drøm, Music By – Danish Traditional* - 3:45
  • B2 Stædelil, Music By – Faroese Traditional* - 2:44
  • B3 Naja's Waltz, Music By – Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin* - 3:19
  • B4 Unst Boat Song, Music By – Traditional From The Shetland Islands* - 4:46
  • B5 Fastän, Music By – Eva Sæther - 2:43
  • B6 Hur Var Du I Aftes Så Sildig, Music By – Danish Traditional* - 2:00
  • B7 The Dromer, Music By – Danish Traditional* - 3:01
  • B8 Now Found Is The Fairest Of Roses, Music By – Traditional - 3:01


  • Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen - Violin, Harmonium, Piano, Glockenspiel
  • Frederik Øland - Violin
  • Asbjørn Nørgaard - Viola
  • Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin - Violoncello, Double Bass




Recorded: January 2017. The Kirsten Kjær Museum, Frøstrup.

Mixed June 2017 at Tritonus Studio, Stuttgart.


Released: 22.09.2017.



Catalogue No: ECM 2550

Barcode: 028948164974