John Abercrombie Quartet, "Up And Coming" - skaņuplate, 33.3 RPM, ECM Records.

Šis albums pieejams arī CD formātā.


Guitarist John Abercrombie – who has recorded as a leader for ECM since 1974 – returns with a second album by his quartet featuring Marc Copland on piano, along with longtime rhythm partners Drew Gress and Joey Baron.

Extolling 39 Steps, the group’s 2013 album, the Financial Times said: “The emphasis is on subtle intrigue, flowing lyricism and the interplay between the leader’s warm, cleanly articulated guitar and Copland’s piano… with bassist Gress and drummer Baron equally supple and sinewy companions.” The same virtues of lyrical melody and harmonic/rhythmic subtlety are apparent with the new Up and Coming, though with even more emphasis on the enduring values of song. Abercrombie’s liquid phrasing and glowing tone – enabled by the thumb technique he has honed since eschewing a plectrum in recent years – animate his five originals and the pair by Copland, as well as a take on the Miles Davis classic “Nardis” done in the spirit of Bill Evans. Up and Coming has a twilight atmosphere, with melodic flow the guiding light.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • A1 Joy, Composed By – John Abercrombie - 4:09
  • A2 Flipside, Composed By – John Abercrombie - 2:50
  • A3 Sunday School, Composed By – John Abercrombie - 7:15
  • A4 Up And Coming, Composed By – John Abercrombie - 5:47
  • B1 Tears, Composed By – Marc Copland - 7:34
  • B2 Silver Circle, Composed By – Marc Copland - 7:04
  • B3 Nardis, Composed By – Miles Davis - 6:17
  • B4 Jumbles, Composed By – John Abercrombie - 5:57


  • John Abercrombie - Guitar
  • Marc Copland - Piano
  • Drew Gress - Double Bass
  • Joey Baron - Drums


Recorded: April / May 2016, Avatar Studios, New York.

Released: 13.01.2017.


Catalogue No: ECM 2528

Barcode: 602557262384

Saistītie produkti