18 €

Django Bates' Belovèd, "The Study Of Touch" - CD izdevums, ECM Records.


British pianist Django Bates returns to ECM with one of his very finest constellations, the trio Belovèd, with Swedish bassist Petter Eldh and Danish drummer Peter Bruun, and an aptly named album, The Study of Touch. All three musicians are highly individual players, subtly challenging the conventions of the jazz piano trio. The group came together a decade ago when Bates was teaching at Copenhagen’s Rhythmic Music Conservatory.

The shared work has included inspired reconstructions of pieces associated with Charlie Parker – a formative influence for both Bates and bassist Eldh - and in this new album, Parker’s tune “Passport” is set amid Django originals, and played with respect, contemporary sensibility and joy. Some of Django’s own tunes here – such as “Senza Bitterness”, “Sadness All The Way Down” and “We Are Not Lost, We Are Simply Finding Our Way” have become core pieces in Belovèd’s repertoire, continually remodeled by this trio of improvisers. Bates’ composing and arranging skills are much in evidence, along with his freewheeling, free-flowing virtuosic melodic sense. The terse, percussive edge of Petter Eldh’s bass provides momentum and drummer Peter Bruun details the music with an almost painterly touch. In the crowded world of the piano trio, Belovèd has developed a sound all its own.


The Study of Touch was recorded at Oslo’s Rainbow Studio in June 2016, and produced by Manfred Eicher.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • 1 Sadness All The Way Down, Composed By – D. Bates - 2:14
  • 2 Giorgiantics, Composed By – Django Bates - 6:02
  • 3 Little Petherick, Composed By – Django Bates - 6:20
  • 4 Senza Bitterness, Composed By – Django Bates - 3:25
  • 5 We Are Not Lost, We Are Simply Finding Our Way, Composed By – Django Bates - 6:06
  • 6 This World, Composed By – Iain Ballamy - 5:25
  • 7 The Study Of Touch, Composed By – Django Bates - 9:41
  • 8 Passport, Composed By – Charlie Parker - 2:42
  • 9 Slippage Street, Composed By – Django Bates - 7:37
  • 10 Peonies As Promised, Composed By – Django Bates -4:47
  • 11 Happiness All The Way Up, Composed By – Django Bates - 1:18


  • Django Bates - Piano
  • Petter Eldh - Double Bass
  • Peter Bruun - Drums



Recorded: Recorded June 2016, Rainbow Studio, Oslo.
Released: 3.11.2017.



Catalogue No: ECM 2534

Barcode: 602557326635

Saistītie produkti