18 €

Ketil Bjørnstad, "A Passion For John Donne" - CD izdevums, ECM Records.


Ketil Bjørnstad’s passion for the English metaphysical poet John Donne (1572-1631) is a lifelong affair. His settings of Donne’s verse have led to recordings including The Shadow, Grace and the ECM album The Light. “After working with the texts of John Donne for more than twenty years, I still find new approaches to understanding what he wrote and I find music throughout. It is in the language, in the rhythm, in the silence between the sentences - a passionate quest for meaning and reconciliation. Donne's dramatic life is reflected in the texts and everywhere in them you will find the passion, melodies and sounds”. Bjørnstad wrote A passion for John Donne for the Oslo International Church Festival in the winter of 2011/2012 and the premiere performance – documented here – was at the Sofienberg Kirke in Oslo in March 2012. The Oslo Chamber Choir is sensitively directed by Håkon Daniel Nystedt, and passion is personified in the unique performance of Håkon Kornstad, who makes his ECM debut, as both tenor saxophonist and classical tenor singer.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • 1 Introitus‎ ‎– A Passion For John Donne 3:08
  • 2 Thou Hast Made Me 7:54
  • 3 A Fever 5:43
  • 4 Death, Be Not Proud 3:39
  • 5 Interlude No. 1 2:48
  • 6 The Legacy 3:48
  • 7 Batter My Heart, Three Personal God 3:28
  • 8 A Nocturnal Upon St. Lucy's Day 8:33
  • 9 Farewell To Love 7:31
  • 10 Interlude No. 2 4:02
  • 11 Since She Whom I Loved Hath Paid Her Last Debt 2:22
  • 12 A Valediction, Forbidden Mourning 8:20
  • 13 Oh, To Vex Me, Contraries Meet In One 5:03
  • 14 Interlude No. 3 2:33
  • 15 There We Leave You 3:50


  • Ketil Bjørnstad - Piano
  • Håkon Kornstad - Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Voice
  • Birger Mistereggen - Percussion
  • Oslo Chamber Choir   
  • Håkon Daniel Nystedt  


Recorded: Recorded live March 2012, Sofienberg Kirke, Oslo,

at the Oslo International Church Music Festival.


Released: 24.10.2014.



Catalogue No: ECM 2349

Barcode: 602537959853

Saistītie produkti