Orchestra Jazz Siciliana, "Plays The Music Of Carla Bley" - skaņuplate, 33.3 RPM, ECM Records.

Šis albums pieejams arī CD formātā.


In response to "an offer they couldn't refuse", the Watt Works family agreed to release this album of Carla Bley's music recorded by the Orchestra Jazz Siciliana, a cigar-chewing, black-hatted, 17-piece big band, who pack more than a few loaded horn cases between them. The orchestra is augmented by Bley band regulars Steve Swallow and Gary Valente, in equally minacious mood, on these live sessions recorded in Palermo in the spring of 1989.

The Sicilian Orchestra tackles compositions previously heard on the Carla Bley albums Musique Mecanique, I Hate To Sing, Dinner Music, Duets, Live! and Heavy Heart, and though Bley herself is conducting, the orchestra's approach transforms the material or, to put it another way, returns it to the jazz tradition. Traditions die hard in Sicily, and this orchestra swings powerfully in the grand manner, like a Mediterranean Basie unit, almost, but for Carla's irrepressible sense of satire and piquant chord changes.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • A1 440, Soloist – G.Valente*, O.Maugeri*, P.Greco*, S.D'Anna* - 6:48
  • A2 The Lone Arranger, Soloist – G.Valente*, O.Maugeri* - 7:58
  • A3 Dreams So Real, Soloist – G.Valente*, O.Maugeri*, P.Greco* - 7:33
  • B1 Baby Baby, Soloist – G.Valente*, M.Greco*, S.Swallow* - 7:31
  • B2 Joyful Noise - Soloist – M.Greco*, S.D'Anna* - 5:05
  • B3 Egyptian, Soloist – A.Palacino*, P.Mappa*, S.D'Anna* - 6:19
  • B4 Blunt Object, Soloist – G.Valente*, O.Maugeri* - 4:02




Tracks A1 to A3:

Recorded direct to 2-track Digital Audio Tape at Brass Group Jazz Club, Palermo, Sicily, May 11-15, 1989


Tracks B1 to B4:

Recorded direct to 2-track Digital Audio Tape in concert at Teatro Metropolitan, Palermo,Sicily, May 16, 1989


Post-production November 1989, at Grog Kill Studio, Willow, NY

Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York, NY


  • Nico Riina - Trumpet
  • Massimo Greco - Trumpet
  • Pietro Pedone - Trumpet
  • Faro Riina - Trumpet
  • Giovanni Guttilla - Trumpet
  • Salvatore Pizzo - Trombone
  • Salvatore Pizzurro - Trombone
  • Maurizio Persia - Bass Trombone
  • Orazio Maugeri - Alto Saxophone
  • Claudio Montalbano - Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone
  • Stefano d'Anna - Tenor Saxophone
  • Alessandro Palacino - Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone
  • Antonio Pedone - Baritone Saxophone
  • Ignazio Garsia - Piano
  • Pino Greco - Guitar
  • Paolo Mappa - Drums
  • Sergio Cammalleri - Percussion
  • Gary Valente - Trombone
  • Steve Swallow - Bass


Released: 1.10.1990.


Catalogue No: XtraWatt 4

Barcode: 042284320719

Saistītie produkti