18 €

Thomas Strønen, "Time Is A Blind Guide" - CD izdevums, ECM Records.


Time Is A Blind Guide is both the title of Thomas Strønen’s album and the name of his new Norwegian-British ensemble. In contrast to Food and its electronic soundscapes, TIABG is an all-acoustic group which plays what its drummer-leader-composer calls “melodic music with a twist.” Its melodies unfurl sinuously over shifting rhythmic patterns. The band was built to include a number of overlapping musical sub-groups. “There is a kind of enhanced piano trio at the centre of Time Is A Blind Guide,” says Strønen. “And there is a string group with violin and cello and bass – over the years I’ve written lots of music for strings - as well as a drum ensemble with me and Siv Øyunn Kjenstad and Steinar Mossige…” The two percussionists often assert strong and solid grooves, allowing Strønen to play freely on top of the rhythms and to interact dynamically with the outstanding young English pianist Kit Downes, who makes his ECM debut here.


Time Is A Blind Guide was recorded at Oslo’s Rainbow Studio in July 2015 and is rush-released in time for a Japanese tour.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • 1 The Stone Carriers, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 6:47
  • 2 Tide, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 1:30
  • 3 Everything Disappears I, Music By – Downes*, Strønen* - 3:53
  • 4 Pipa, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 4:55
  • 5 I Don't Wait For Anyone, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 6:44
  • 6 The Drowned City, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 6:06
  • 7 Lost Souls, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 6:16
  • 8 Everything Disappears II (Ode To JT), Music By – Thomas Strønen - 2:21
  • 9 Time Is A Blind Guide, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 5:40
  • 10 As We Wait For Time, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 5:19
  • 11 Simples, Music By – Thomas Strønen - 3:19


  • Thomas Strønen - Drums, Percussion
  • Kit Downes - Piano
  • Håkon Aase - Violin
  • Ole Morten Vågan - Double Bass
  • Lucy Railton - Cello
  • Siv Øyunn Kjenstad - Percussion
  • Steinar Mossige - Percussion


Recorded: Recorded June 2015, Rainbow Studio, Oslo.

Mixed July 2015, in Oslo. Mastering: MSM Studios, München

Released: 16.10.2015.


Catalogue No: ECM 2467

Barcode: 602547541154

Saistītie produkti