Vijay Iyer Trio, "Break Stuff" - dubultā skaņuplate, 33.3 RPM, ECM Records.

Šis albums pieejams arī CD formātā.


“Break Stuff” is what happens after formal elements have been addressed. Vijay Iyer calls the break “a span of time in which to act. It’s the basis for breakdowns, breakbeats, and break dancing... it can be the moment when everything comes to life.” A number of the pieces here are breakdowns of other Iyer constructions. Some are from a suite premiered at New York’s Museum of Modern Art, some derive from Open City, a collaboration with novelist Teju Cole and large ensemble. The trio energetically recasts everything it touches. “Hood” is a tribute to Detroit techno pioneer Robert Hood. On “Work”, Vijay pays homage to his “number one hero”, Thelonious Monk. “Countdown” reconsiders the classic Coltrane tune inside a rhythmic framework inspired by West African music. “Mystery Woman” is driven by compound pulses which owe a debt to South Indian drumming. Fast moving and quick-witted, the group has developed a strong musical identity of its own, with an emphasis on what Iyer calls “co-constructing”, exploring all the dynamics of playing together. Yet the three players also get abundant solo space and, in a reflective moment at the album’s centre, Iyer plays a moving version of Billy Strayhorn’s “Blood Count” alone.


Break Stuff, recorded in June 2014 at New York’s Avatar Studio and produced by Manfred Eicher, is the third ECM release from Vijay Iyer. It follows the chamber music recording Mutations and the film-and-music project Radhe radhe: Rites of Holi.


Mēs varam sniegt jums konsultāciju par šo produktu +371 67171000, mūsu veikalā Cēsu iela 33, Rīgā vai:


  • A1 Starlings, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 3:47
  • A2 Chorale, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 4:34
  • A3 Diptych, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 6:48
  • A4 Hood, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 6:10
  • B1 Work, Composed By – Thelonious Monk - 6:14
  • B2 Taking Flight, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 7:15
  • B3 Blood Count, Composed By – Billy Strayhorn - 4:33
  • C1 Break Stuff, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 5:26
  • C2 Mystery Woman, Composed By – Vijay Iyer, Composed By [Based On A Rhythmic Idea Created By] – R. Swaminathan - 6:20
  • C3 Geese, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 6:36
  • D1 Countdown, Composed By – John Coltrane - 5:57
  • D2 Wrens, Composed By – Vijay Iyer - 6:47


  • Vijay Iyer - Piano
  • Marcus Gilmore - Drums



Recorded: In June 2014 at New York’s Avatar Studio.

Release date: 16.01.2015.



Catalogue No: ECM 2420

Barcode: 602547243041

Saistītie produkti